365 Days Outside

I live in a city. Though a good number of trees and even a few lakes surround my area, from my window, I can see the street and hear the cars. I can probably count the number of true farms I’ve encountered in my entire life on one hand.

With all the writing and studying I do, I can easily let an entire day go by without setting foot outside for more than a few minutes at a time to let the dog out, check the mail, etc.

That seems kind of sad.

So this past week, I have begun 365 days of one hour spent outside for the sake of being outside.

The rules are simple: spend at least one hour of every day for the next year being outside by choice. For instance, taking the dog out doesn’t count because I was going to have to go outside for that, anyway. Reading in the sun does count because I could easily have done that inside, instead.

πŸ™‚Β  By tomorrow, I will have completed seven consecutive days of my goal.Β  πŸ™‚

My husband and I made it work by planting a vegetable garden. Just some small things that (we’ve read) can grow on a porch or patio. Currently, our veggie garden includes carrots, lettuce, tomatoes, and strawberries, along with some other, non-edible plants.

The odd little orange sticks you see in most of the pots are “worms” — little things you put in the soil to gauge how much water the plants currently have. Yes, they have silly faces.

When it’s time for me to write or read or study or just surf the Internet, I sit outside in my garden. That way, I get my work done while still enjoying the fresh air and the warm sun. It’s a perfect way to spend spring. And I’m outside for much longer than one hour a day. Once I have everything I need, I can keep working out here for hours! Talk about inspiration. Not to mention a nice way to keep the lights off in my house.Β  πŸ™‚

The pets love it, too. Ever since I started my daily ritual of carrying my work outside, the cats and dog have taken to waking me up earlier and earlier to get a head start on the day. I bring their pet beds out with me, and they lounge in the sun or play with their toys or watch the squirrels in the trees.

In fact, I’m writing this from my garden right now. And, just moments ago, I noticed something exciting!

Our lettuce is beginning to grow!

Now, this may not be as exciting to some as it is to me; after all, you put a seed in soil, give it water and sunlight and organic fertilizer, and, yeah. Obviously this is what happens. But you have to remember what I said at the start of this blog: I live in a city. Here, we simply don’t have reason or time or space to grow things from seeds once we graduate from elementary school science. Many of us just get potted plants or nothing at all. For me, at least, this causes a sad sort of disconnect from nature over time. So the little green lettuce babies peeking out within just a few days is a pretty big thrill for me.Β  πŸ™‚Β  It means we’ve done something (at least partially) right.

I plan to work on my ScriptFrenzy script(s) from this little urban farm of mine. Hopefully the growing plants will give me the inspiration I need!

What do you do for inspiration when you need it most?

Anybody want to join me in ScriptFrezy? Or my 365 days outside challenge?

I’ll keep you updated on how it’s going over here.Β  πŸ™‚

One response to “365 Days Outside

  1. I love this! In fact, you’ve inspired me to go outside right now! πŸ™‚ Hurray for the little lettuce leaves!

Leave a Reply

