Rock Out While You Work?

Normally I can’t listen to music while I work. As soon as I select a song, I begin bopping my head to the beat. Then, as I type on my keyboard, I hum a few bars. Finally, my favorite part of the music comes up, and I drop everything, back away from the computer, and sing along full force until the song is over, when I realize I enjoyed those few minutes so much I want to hit replay.

No, listening to music during work generally isn’t a good idea for me.  🙂

Lots of people enjoy it, though, and I’ve always envied those who can rock out while they write. I’ve been searching for an album that works – one that relaxes me, keeps me feeling upbeat, and doesn’t serve as a distraction.

I think I’ve finally found something!

Flower is an amazing PlayStation Network downloadable game/work of art created by That Game Company. It follows the dreams? journeys? destinies? of several urban windowsill flowers as they turn a dreary world beautiful. It also has a lovely soundtrack – lyric free and soothing.

Not long ago I downloaded the soundtrack from PSN and have been playing it in the background while I write. It’s perfect! The music is calm, fun, and ideal for creativity. My only complaint is that I want more tracks – I could listen to this all day long.

Do you listen to music while you work? What’s best for you?

2 responses to “Rock Out While You Work?

  1. I do listen to music while I work. A lot of it. In the morning I start with talk radio, especially NPR, because I feel that’s when I can pay attention and learn the most, even while writing/editing. After lunchtime, I’ve moved on to something with a dance beat because I need music that will keep me moving and stave off the 2-4pm nap monster (whom I’ve tweeted about a whole lot lately). If I make it through naptime, I try some kind of educational lecture or language course, but I’m not really paying attention. I’m mostly hoping it will seep in through osmosis.

    If I’m really desperate, I listen to music in a language I don’t know, the more exotic the better. It just doesn’t hit the same parts of the brain as music in English. The downside is, eventually I learn the words, and start singing along. Which is really odd, considering I don’t know what’s being said. Right now, my random foreign music of choice is… wait for it…. Arabic rap. 😉

  2. Oh, how I wish I could learn another language through osmosis. Please let me know if that works out for you. 🙂

    I’ve been known to play some Bollywood and anime tunes in the background, myself. But as you pointed out, eventually the sounds begin to stick in our heads as if we knew the lyrics, and the next thing you know, I’m rocking out to something I don’t even understand, completely ignoring all the writing I need to finish.

    Good plan about listening to NPR in the mornings! I often do that, as well — or sometimes I’ll listen to some fun radio plays if I’m in a fictional kind of mood. Can’t stand any other talk radio. All the gossip makes my head hurt. My husband seems to enjoy it, though! /sigh

Leave a Reply

