Writers Love Writing: Moira J. Moore guest blog

~Today’s blog comes from MOIRA J. MOORE!~

This is a special response post to Natalie Duvall’s “Writers Hate Writing.”

Is the government being particularly annoying? Is there a part of history you want to explore and explain? Is there an archetype that you want to address in a different way? Is there an old trope you’d like to twist or stand on its head? Write a book.

Writing is fabulous. I started writing my first book (it was awful) when I was around thirteen, and I’ve been writing ever since, because I love it. If I didn’t love it, I wouldn’t have persisted in writing during the many years from the first book I wrote to the first book I published. I wouldn’t be as confident as I am that I would be writing still, even if I’d never gotten published. Seeing the books on the shelf is great, getting paid for writing is marvelous, but I wouldn’t be writing at all if I didn’t enjoy it. It’s not my bread and butter. It’s what I do in my spare time, for fun.

The first draft of any of my books is written long hand. It’s exciting to put pen to paper for the first words. While I have the broad strokes of the plot and characters in mind when I start a new book, all the fine details are worked out as I write, and I love when ideas just pop into my mind. Sometimes I’ll let myself write a scene that appears to be nothing more than a tangent, only to realize later in the draft that I can draw that tangent back in and end up with what I consider an appealing subplot.

I love ironing out kinks in the story when I’m driving or walking. Sometimes I’ll run through lines of dialogue under my breath, and the people I pass on the street think I’m a crazy person. Sometimes I really struggle with plot holes or inconsistent characterization, and when the way to fix those comes to me, there’s a real sense of satisfaction and delight.

Of course, there are difficulties with writing. Putting together 100,000 words is hard work. Sometimes, I don’t know where to go next. Sometimes an editor provides a list of what she wants changed, and those changes can be hard to accommodate. And sometimes, upon rereading the published product, I wince and wish that I could grab all those copies back and fix the problems.

But the positives outweigh the negatives, by a long shot. I couldn’t imagine not writing. I love it too much.

Proofreading is a real pain in the ass, though.

6 responses to “Writers Love Writing: Moira J. Moore guest blog

  1. Clearly Moira is insane. She just said that she handwrites her novels.

    • LOL Natalie!

      You know, one of the things I love is the hand-written journal that I keep full of notes and ideas. There definitely is something nice about the feeling of writing with my favorite pen on comfortable paper. 🙂

  2. I can’t think as well when I’m using the computer.

    Though I’m not necessarily disputing the insanity charge.

  3. As a reader, I’d just like to say however you produce the text is fine. As long as I get to read the end product at some point ^^. I’m mercenary that way.

  4. When teaching a dead author, I often make my kids think about how hard writing must have been when Austen or Shakespeare wrote. They (and I) can’t imagine how much time and effort it took to write. I tell them that those were the dedicated, masterful writers.

    Irene, I used to keep a little notebook to jot my ideas down on. However, when I got my iPad, I started doing it on that. Call me a sucker for technology, but it’s easier for me to work when I can just do a quick “find” to figure out where the heck I mentioned what the name of my hero’s butler is… 🙂

  5. Nice breath of fresh air here. Very cool to hear from someone who has such a good attitude. I am rarely that upbeat about the little struggles. Instead of focusing on how rewarding it is when perfect fixes come to me, I’m too busy fretting about how awful it will be if the fixes don’t come! So I’m thinking…maybe all the angst I feel about writing is…part of the fun for me! Maybe I just love being cranky about writing! LOL Fun post, Moira!

Leave a Reply

